5 Apr 2018


Series Review / The Secret Circle by LJ Smith

With love, witchcraft, and spellbinding drama, the Secret Circle series is perfect for fans of The Vampire Diaries.

This special collection contains the first book in the Secret Circle series, The Initiation, as well as part one of the second book in the series, The Captive; from L.J. Smith, the New York Timesbestselling author of The Vampire Diaries.

When Cassie is forced to move from California all the way to the small New England town of New Salem, she’s miserable. And yet, she feels a powerful kinship to the town, and to a terrifyingly beautiful group of students who always seem to get their way. Charmed by the Secret Circle, Cassie is initiated into a coven of witches whose power has controlled New Salem for hundreds of years. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, she is faced with the most pressing danger of her life—and one wrong move could ultimately destroy her…

Published:     1995
Publisher:  Random House
Goodreads :  Click here
Series or Stand-Alone:  Books 1 to 3, Secret Circle
Source:  Owned


I have read this series before but at a time when there was only 3 books in the series.  Although written by different authors, I hadn't realised there were more books in this world.   I decided to pick this up on audio book, that was definitely the right choice.  This story was easy to listen to and easy to follow.  I did remember a lot of the story from before but the stories still had a few surprises that I had somehow forgotten.

There's just something about a good witchcraft story that always sucks me in!  What gave this series the edge for me was the history.  We follow Cassie as she moves back to help her grandmother in their home town.  Little does she know that her family has a lot more history than she is aware of!  Following the story picking up, bit by bit, the history of Cassie and the characters she comes across made me intrigued enough to keep reading.  There are, of course, a few twists and turns along the way that even though I was expecting them I still enjoyed discovering them all over again.

This review only covers the first three books in this series.  I did try and pick up the next book in the series, The Divide, but just could not get into it.  Maybe it was the story and maybe it was the change in writing (because this was written by a different author) but I just wasn't feeling it.