29 Jul 2018

, , ,

Book Review / A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood



Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer, sixteen-year-old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years. And when the owners arrive for the summer - a handsome, dashing brother and sister - Lou is quite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktail parties and glamour beyond her wildest dreams.

But, as she grows closer to the Cardews, is she abandoning her own ambitions... And is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?

A gorgeously dreamy coming-of-age romance set against a stunning Gatsby-esque backdrop, this is perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson.





Published:     5th July 2018
Publisher:  Scholastic
Goodreads :  Click here
Series or Stand-Alone:  Stand-Alone

Source:  Review Copy from Publisher



MY REVIEW




This was such a beautiful novel I just did not want to put it down, even when I had finished the last page!  This story has the perfect mix of interesting character development, gently woven plot lines and some very interesting dramatic twists and turns along the way.

What I loved about this story was all of the above!  If I had to pick a certain part that I loved the most, I would have to choose the characters, their development and their relationships with each other.  You  have Lou who is the main character who has almost accepted that she would spend the rest of her life in the village she has always lived.  She would marry and have a family and follow in the footsteps of many women that have come before her.  Lou is different, she has dreams of more.  She is a writer and has so much more to give.  When she is able to, she steals away to an 'abandoned' mansion in the village where she sits and reads for most of the day until one day per peace is shattered as the family who owns the mansion comes back for the summer.  In particular, you have a  a brother and sister (the Cardews) who quite clearly are the opposite of each other but equally love each other dearly.  Lou befriends the family and the friends they bring along with them and we follow Lou as she has a somewhat blissful summer with these new friends of her.

A very relaxing story that is filled with interesting characters and wonderful romances.  Such a beautiful book that I would not hesitate to recommend and certainly read time and time again. 




Post a Comment