16 Oct 2016

,

Book Review / The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe

For fans of Jo Nesbo and The Bridge, The Ice Beneath Her is a gripping and deeply disturbing story about love, betrayal and obsession that is impossible to put down. Fast-paced and peopled with compelling characters, it surprises at every turn as it hurtles towards an unforgettable ending with a twist you really won't see coming . . .

A young woman is found beheaded in an infamous business tycoon's marble-lined hallway.

The businessman, scandal-ridden CEO of the retail chain Clothes & More, is missing without a trace.

But who is the dead woman? And who is the brutal killer who wielded the machete?

Rewind two months earlier to meet Emma Bohman, a sales assistant for Clothes & More, whose life is turned upside down by a chance encounter with Jesper Orre. Insisting that their love affair is kept secret, he shakes Emma's world a second time when he suddenly leaves her with no explanation.

As frightening things begin to happen to Emma, she suspects Jesper is responsible. But why does he want to hurt her? And how far would he go to silence his secret lover?


Published:     27th December 2016
Publisher:  Ballantine Books
Goodreads :  Click here
Series or Stand-Alone:  Stand-Alone
Source:  Review Copy from Publisher





MY REVIEW

What I liked about this story...  In this story we follow a few characters but the one that I particularly enjoyed the most was the story of Emma Bohman.  We see her at the beginning working at Clothes & Moore, as a sales assistant, where she meets Jesper Orre; a man who has his own secrets.  From that chance meeting they start a secret affair and what follows from there are a series of events that made the story for me.  I loved the suspense build up from this character perspective.

What I didn't like about this story...  Unfortunately, for me, apart from the above, the story really lost my interest, honestly speaking.  I really loved following the story of Emma and finding out what happened next but with the addition of other character's perspectives and their own stories I just didn't find them as interesting as her story.  With this lack of interest I have to say that I was very tempted to skip those chapters just to get to the 'Emma parts'.  I didn't in the end skip parts but did wish that those parts were a bit more in pace with the story.   It was more that with the other character's parts in this story it felt there was too much description and individual character back story and not enough suspense or action that I had thought it would have.  






Post a Comment