31 Aug 2016

Month in Review / August 2016

What a fantastic reading month.  I am definately getting back into my reading gain (after losing a bit of the mojo with having to move house and deal with all that when I could have been reading lol!).  I've learned something about myself this month.  I find that if I read every day, whether that be a few pages to a whole book, my 'want' for reading books grows.  The more I read the more I want to read.  That said, if I force myself to read when I don't want to it has the opposite effect.  So when I don't want to read, I won't. 

A few favourites this month.  The House in Quill Court is a beautiful historic fiction novel that just swept me away.  Great characters and great descriptions.  Indiscretion, Masquerade and Legacy (a trilogy by Hannah Fielding called Andalusian Nights Trilogy) was also a favourite this month.  These stories were so wonderful I just could not help getting swept away by the story and the characters.  I also liked how each of the books connected.  Indiscretion starts off the story in 1950, Masquerade follows the next generation in 1976 and then Legacy finishes off in another generation in 2010. 

I hope you all had a great reading month and looking forward to the next!

BOOKS READ



BOOKS RECEIVED and BOUGHT 
  

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL (Received)
Charlie Bloom never wanted to be 'with the band'. She's happiest out of the spotlight, behind her camera, unseen and unnoticed. But when she's asked to take backstage photos for hot new boy band Fire&Lights, she can't pass up the chance.

Catapulted into a world of paparazzi and backstage bickering, Charlie soon becomes caught between gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West, and his boy-next-door bandmate Olly Samson. Then, as the boys' rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles upon a mind-blowing secret, hidden in the lyrics of their songs...

THE LITTLE BOOKSHOP OF LONELY HEARTS (Received)
Where happy ever after is only a page away…

A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan
Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels.

So when Bookend’s eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn’t just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia’s grandson, Sebastian, AKA The Rudest Man In London™.

Posy has a cunning plan and six months to transform Bookends into the bookshop of her dreams – if only Sebastian would leave her alone to get on with it. As Posy and her friends fight to save their beloved bookshop, Posy’s drawn into a battle of wills with Sebastian, about whom she’s started to have some rather feverish fantasies…

Like her favourite romantic heroines, will she get her happy ever after too?

MY SISTER'S BONES (NUALA ELLWOOD) (Received)
ate Rafter is a high-flying war reporter. She's the strong one. The one who escaped their father. Her younger sister Sally didn't. Instead, she drinks.

But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her very first night she is woken by a scream.

At first Kate tells herself it's just a nightmare. But then terrifying things start to happen, things she can't explain...

What secret is lurking in her mother's garden?
And what if the real danger is where you least expect it?

 
THE DRESS (Bought)  
Lily Fitzpatrick loves vintage clothes - made all the more precious because they were once owned and loved by another woman. Thousands follow her vintage fashion blog and her daily Instagram feed. But this passion for the beautiful clothes of the past is about to have unforeseen consequences, when Lily stumbles upon the story of a 1950s New York beauty, who was not only everything Lily longs to be, but also shares Lily's surname.

Joy Fitzpatrick was a legend. But what was the famous dress which she once commissioned - said to be so original that nothing in couture would ever match it again? What happened to it - and why did Joy suddenly disappear from New York high society?

Kate Kerrigan's enthralling novel interweaves the dramatic story of Joy, the beautiful but tortured socialite and that of Lily - determined to uncover the truth and, if possible, bring back to life the legendary dress itself.
 



 
Post a Comment