22 Jun 2016


Book Review / The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

To avoid spoilers, below is the description for book 1 in this series.  This is book 2. 

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people's minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

Published:     27th January 2015
Publisher:  Bloomsbury
Goodreads :  Click here
Series or Stand-Alone:  Book 2, The Bone Season
Source:  Owned


There is so much I want to tell you about this series but I just can't as it is book 2 but what I will say is that this series is fast becoming being added to my list of favourite series of all time.  It's on the pending pile as I will always reserve judgment until I have read the final book in a series before making a definitive tick in the box.  I can see for this series the final book is going to be a long way off.  Book 3 is not due to come out until 2017 and it looks like there is a new book every two years, not to mention it looks like there are going to be seven books in this series.  I'm in for a bit of a wait but judging by how much I enjoyed this I am sure it will be worth the wait!

What I liked the most about this book  would have to be the same reasons that I gave for the first book.  In this book we learn a little bit more about this world and how things work.  The descriptions and depths in the characters are so well done and so detailed.  Character progression in this book was really interesting for me in this book as you have the same characters that were in the first book but as the story has moved on so have the characters and so have the way they react to things, living and learning.

If you are a fan of books like the Mortal Instruments series, you need to give this series a go.  It's so addicting!!